A Little Weird But Heart Shaped

Standard

I was working with Farmer Dale at the Greenhouse, and we came across a huge Kohlrabi that was heart shaped.  After recognizing it as the obvious metaphor it is for my world, I wondered how I would use it. I didn’t really want the julianne strips in my salad kind of Kohlrabi so I went on a Google search.

I like this :     http://rosajackson.blogspot.com/2008/03/celeriac-and-kohlrabi-rsti.html

and I will definately try this  :    http://veggiecookbook.wordpress.com/2007/05/04/noolkol-kohlrabi-kalan/

although I think I’ll skip the methi seeds as I’m not a big fan of coriander.

By the way sour curd is like our cottage cheese only with a more yogurty flavor.  I think a good subtitute might be 3 parts cottage cheese to 1 part plain yogurt.

And I found this out too:

  • Low in calories, only 19 for a half cup raw, sliced
  • High in dietary fiber, 2.5 grams for one-half cup
  • Potassium content peaks at 245 grams for one-half cup
  • Vitamin content for that same one-half cup includes 25 I.U. vitamin A, 43.4 mg. vitamin C, 11.3 mcg folic acid, and 16.8 mg. calcium.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

